CPU / Processors Reviews

List Reviews by:
  1.   

    AMD Financial Analyst Day Raja Koduri Presentation

    By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017

    Raja Koduri, Radeon Technologies Group Senior VP and Chief Architect, just finished up with his AMD Analyst Day presentation that was firmly focused on its upcoming Vega GPU and how it will pertain to the Machine Learning and Advanced Visualization markets by introducing the Radeon Vega Frontier Edition.

  2.   

    AMD Financial Analyst Day Lisa Su Presentation

    By Kyle Bennett   May 16, 2017

    AMD is holding its annual Financial Analyst Day right now. AMD announced its Epyc brand Naples based datacenter processor CPUs as well as its Radeon Instinct Datacenter products based on the Vega GPU. This is AMD CEO Lisa Su's introduction slide deck that touches on all of today's presentations still happening now.

  3. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    AMD Ryzen 5 1600 & 1400 CPU Review

    By Kyle Bennett   April 11, 2017

    AMD has been on a tear with its new Ryzen 7 CPUs over the past few weeks and now it is time for the Ryzen 5 processor family performance to be explored. We are giving away the AMD Reviewer's Kit with a 1600X and 1500X, instead we bought 1600 and 1400 processors to review here today. All data is retail CPUs, and all overclocked to 4GHz.

  4.   

    Overclocking the AMD Ryzen 5 1600 and 1400 CPUs

    By Kyle Bennett   April 06, 2017

    Much to our surprise, AMD Ryzen 5 CPUs started showing up online for sale last week in North America, so we did what any PC hardware review site would do. We went out and bought four of those and started working on seeing just how much overclocking headroom each of these new CPUs have.

  5.   

    AMD Ryzen Oxide Game Engine Optimized Code Tested

    By Kyle Bennett   March 30, 2017

    There has been a lot of talk about how AMD's new Ryzen processors have pulled up somewhat short at low resolution gaming. AMD explained that code optimizations from game developers are needed to address this issue, and today is the day that we are supposed to start seeing some of that code in action.

  6.   

    Two More Retail Ryzen 7 1700 Overclock Tested

    By Kyle Bennett   March 28, 2017

    Last week we headed out and purchased two retail Ryzen 7 1700 CPUs to see what 1700 processors purchased would attain in terms of overclocking. After that we went out and purchased two more retail 1700 CPUs to see what those would do overclocking-wise. After spending some time with those, we have a better picture of what to expect.

  7.   

    AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Retail CPU Overclocking X 2

    By Kyle Bennett   March 20, 2017

    We have seen what the Ryzen 7 1700 sampled to us by AMD would do when it comes to overclocking, but what happens when you purchase a 1700 CPU? We went out and purchased one online and one locally and put these to test to find out their overclocking prowess. Not all CPUs are created equally.

  8.   

    AMD Ryzen 5 Processor Family Introduction

    By Kyle Bennett   March 15, 2017

    AMD has official pulled the kimono back on its new Ryzen 5 series processors which will be for sale very soon. I was working up a little writeup about these new 4 core and 6 core processors, but seeing how as all this information is already leaked, here is the full slide deck for you.

  9. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    AMD Ryzen 1700 CPU vs 1700X CPU Review

    By Kyle Bennett   March 08, 2017

    So there has been a lot of talk about what Ryzen CPU do you buy? The way I think is that you want to buy the least expensive one that will give you the best performance. That is exactly what we expect to find out here today. Is the Ryzen 1700 for $330 as good as the $400 1700X, or even the $500 1800X?

  10. [H]ard|OCP Silver Award  

    AMD Ryzen 1700X CPU Review

    By Kyle Bennett   March 02, 2017

    Saying that we have waited for a long time for a "real" CPU out of AMD would be a gross understatement, but today AMD looks to remedy that. We are now offered up a new CPU that carries the branding name of Ryzen. Has AMD risen from the CPU graveyard? You be the judge after looking at the data.

  11.   

    Relid Your Intel CPU on the Cheap with no Delid Tools

    By Kyle Bennett   February 21, 2017

    So we have covered a lot about taking your shiny new Intel CPUs apart lately, affectionately known as "delidding." What we have found in our journey is that "relidding" the processor might be an important part of the process as well. But what if you do not have a fancy tool that will help you put Humpty back together again?

  12.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU Re-Lid Overclocking Results

    By Kyle Bennett   February 15, 2017

    We have spent a couple of weeks tweaking the Core i5-7600K processor that we bought in retail after pulling the Integrated Heat Spreader and replacing the Thermal Interface Material with CoolLaboratory Liquid Ultra. Many of you wanted to see what we could get with air cooling, so we did.