CPU / Processors Reviews

List Reviews by:
  1.   

    AMD Ryzen 5 Processor Family Introduction

    By Kyle Bennett   March 15, 2017

    AMD has official pulled the kimono back on its new Ryzen 5 series processors which will be for sale very soon. I was working up a little writeup about these new 4 core and 6 core processors, but seeing how as all this information is already leaked, here is the full slide deck for you.

  2. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    AMD Ryzen 1700 CPU vs 1700X CPU Review

    By Kyle Bennett   March 08, 2017

    So there has been a lot of talk about what Ryzen CPU do you buy? The way I think is that you want to buy the least expensive one that will give you the best performance. That is exactly what we expect to find out here today. Is the Ryzen 1700 for $330 as good as the $400 1700X, or even the $500 1800X?

  3. [H]ard|OCP Silver Award  

    AMD Ryzen 1700X CPU Review

    By Kyle Bennett   March 02, 2017

    Saying that we have waited for a long time for a "real" CPU out of AMD would be a gross understatement, but today AMD looks to remedy that. We are now offered up a new CPU that carries the branding name of Ryzen. Has AMD risen from the CPU graveyard? You be the judge after looking at the data.

  4.   

    Relid Your Intel CPU on the Cheap with no Delid Tools

    By Kyle Bennett   February 21, 2017

    So we have covered a lot about taking your shiny new Intel CPUs apart lately, affectionately known as "delidding." What we have found in our journey is that "relidding" the processor might be an important part of the process as well. But what if you do not have a fancy tool that will help you put Humpty back together again?

  5.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU Re-Lid Overclocking Results

    By Kyle Bennett   February 15, 2017

    We have spent a couple of weeks tweaking the Core i5-7600K processor that we bought in retail after pulling the Integrated Heat Spreader and replacing the Thermal Interface Material with CoolLaboratory Liquid Ultra. Many of you wanted to see what we could get with air cooling, so we did.

  6.   

    3D Print Your Own Intel Delid Tool for Skylake & Kaby Lake

    By Kyle Bennett   February 09, 2017

    A lot of us have come to find out recently that Intel once again skimped on the Thermal Interface Material inside these processors' Integrated Heat Spreaders. You can fix that issue however, and now there are some ways to do it safely. If you have a 3D printer, you can make the process a lot safer, and the tools needed much less expensive.

  7.   

    7600K Naked Die Cooling Temperature Follow-Up

    By Kyle Bennett   February 07, 2017

    Last week we decided to see if we could get our naked Intel Core i5-7600K working in the LGA socket after going through the delidding process. We did in fact get the system functional, but the real goal was to achieve better cooling. This is a quick summation of what exactly we experienced.

  8.   

    Intel Core i5-7600K Naked Die Installation with Water Block

    By Kyle Bennett   February 03, 2017

    After our recent experiments with delidding and relidding our 7700K and 7600K to see if we could get better operating temperatures, we decided it was time to go topless! Popping the top on your CPU is one thing, and getting it to work in the current processor socket is another. Get out your pocket knife, we are going to have to make some cuts.

  9.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU De-Lid & Re-Lid Temp Results

    By Kyle Bennett   February 02, 2017

    We got in our retail purchased Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake architecture processor and of course the first thing we wanted to do was overclock it to 5GHz, and then very quickly remove the Integrated Heat Spreader and see how much better we could make our load temperatures. Once again, we got very good results certainly worth sharing.

  10.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i7-7700K CPU Overclocking Follow-up

    By Kyle Bennett   January 26, 2017

    Last week we shared our overclocking results with our retail purchased Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake processor. We then took the Integrated Heat Spreader off, replaced the Thermal Interface Material and tried again for 5GHz with 3600MHz memory and failed. This time, less RAM MHz and more core voltage!

  11.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i7-7700K CPU De-Lid & Re-Lid Results

    By Kyle Bennett   January 19, 2017

    Is there any reason at all to take a razor blade, garage workbench vice, or any sort of other tool to your brand new Kaby Lake CPU? Of course there is. That reason being that the Thermal Interface Material used by Intel on its desktop CPUs is pretty much crap...at least to us enthusiasts.

  12.   

    Kaby Lake 7700K vs Sandy Bridge 2600K IPC Review

    By Kyle Bennett   January 13, 2017

    There are many HardOCP readers that are still running Sandy Bridge CPUs and have been waiting with anticipation of one day upgrading to a new system. One of the biggest things asked in the last month is just how the 2600K stacks up against the new 7700K processor. So we got hold of one of our readers 2600K systems and put it to the test.