Saturday March 25, 2017

Amazon Will Collect Sales Taxes Nationwide on April 1

Are your Amazon purchases still tax free? Well, that holiday will soon be over, unless you are lucky enough to live in a state that doesn’t believe in sales tax (Alaska, Delaware, Oregon, Montana, and New Hampshire).

News Image

Amazon, the online merchandise juggernaut, will collect sales taxes from all states with a sales tax starting April 1. Tax-free shopping will be over as of next month in Hawaii, Idaho, Maine and New Mexico, the four remaining holdouts. Since the beginning of this year, Amazon has added a number of states to its roster of jurisdictions where it collects sales taxes.