Thursday May 22, 2014

Facebook Has Updated Its Privacy Setting Again

Facebook has updated its default privacy settings so that, when you make a new account, posts can only be seen by friends. The default setting used to be "public."

While some people want to post to everyone, others have told us that they are more comfortable sharing with a smaller group, like just their friends. We recognize that it is much worse for someone to accidentally share with everyone when they actually meant to share just with friends, compared with the reverse. So, going forward, when new people join Facebook, the default audience of their first post will be set to Friends. Previously, for most people, it was set to Public.

Comments