Today's Hard|Forum Post
Today's Hard|Forum Post

PSU / Power Supplies Reviews

List Reviews by:
  1. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    Seasonic Flagship PRIME 850W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   October 03, 2016

    Seasonic is one of our long-time favorites when it comes to high power and high efficiency desktop computer power supplies. Seasonic does not introduce wave after wave of new PSU series, so when it does come across with a new platform it gets our attention. Is the TITANIUM rated PRIME 850W worthy of yours?


    Thermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 850W PSU Review

    By Paul Johnson   September 06, 2016

    Flashy lights are cool if you are into that kind of thing, but we want to know about the new Thermaltake power supply beyond the pretty hues of red, green, and blue. Toughpower units have weighed in well in the past, but how about in today's market as it is a lot more competitive now.

  3. [H]ard|OCP Silver Award  

    SilverStone SX700-LPT 700W SFX-L Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   August 23, 2016

    SilverStone has a new take on small form factor power supplies it is calling "SFX-L." This new form factor extends the standard SFX size by 30mm allowing SilverStone to install a quieter 120mm fan than the usual higher speed and noisier 80mm and 92mm fans. How does all this work out?


    Enermax Revolution X't II 750W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   July 24, 2016

    Enermax' Revolution series of computer power supplies has been a staple among enthusiasts for a good long time. Today it adds a newly updated 750 watt PSU to the lineup that touts Gold level efficiency, Japanese capacitors, and a HeatGuard feature that cools down the PSU after shutdown.

  5. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    Seasonic Flagship PRIME 750W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   July 21, 2016

    Seasonic has never been big on marketing-speak. Outside of its impressive specifications, and a list of features, this is all it has to say. "The creation of the PRIME Series is a renewed testimony of Seasonic's determination to push the limits of power supply design in every aspect." Let's see if that is true, or the shortest sales pitch ever.

  6. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    Corsair SF600 600W SFX Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   June 22, 2016

    Corsair has gotten into making computers smaller lately with its Bulldog 4K Living Room Gaming System, and now it is going to share its SF600 power supply that follows the SFX standard form factor, which is tiny for a 600 watt PSU. Given its diminutive stature, has Corsair packed it to the gills with good power?

  7. [H]ard|OCP Silver Award  

    SilverStone ST80F-TI 800W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   June 07, 2016

    SilverStone and its Strider series of computer power supplies have been almost perfect when it comes to earning HardOCP awards. Today it comes to us with a fully modular Titanium efficiency rated 800 watt PSU that it claims to be the world's smallest in this category. "413 watts per liter!" Let's see how that works out today.

  8. [H]ard|OCP Silver Award  

    FSP Hydro X 650W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   May 26, 2016

    FSP does not have much to say about its Hydro X in terms of marketing speak, but it does hit the high points that enthusiast system builders are looking for: "Silent operation, High efficiency ≧ 90%, Full Japan-made electrolytic capacitors, Powerful single +12V rail design, Ribbon cables, and Complete protection: OCP, OVP, SCP, OPP, OTP."


    Rosewill VALENS-700 700W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   May 05, 2016

    While Rosewill is likely not a go-to computer power supply brand to most people, we have been surprised with Rosewill's quality on two of its PSUs over the last couple of years. Today we review an $80 700 watt Rosewill unit that is rated for Gold efficiency, and well ... that is about all that marketing has to say about its Valens-700.


    EVGA 600B Entry Level Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   April 28, 2016

    EVGA is somewhat hit and miss when it comes to computer power supplies, and generally a lot more miss than hit. But today we give EVGA another go with its 600 watt "Bronze" rated unit that EVGA tells us is very much for a the value and budget market. Nothing we like better than a good deal, so let's see how the 600B performs!

  11. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    FSP HYDRO G 650W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   April 14, 2016

    While FSP may not be a PSU brand that is on the tip of your tongue, we have been reviewing FSP computer power supplies now for 8 years, and the fact of the matter is that these units have been getting better and better over time. Where does the new Hydro G 650W fit into that progression?


    Fractal Design Tesla R2 500W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   April 05, 2016

    This is our first review of a Fractal Design computer power supply. This is not a new model and we just happened to get a really good deal on this one as it was on sale, so we figured we would give it a go. Fractal states it also has a contemporary Scandinavian design; black, check, square, check....alrighty.