CPU / Processors Reviews

List Reviews by:
  1.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU Re-Lid Overclocking Results

    By Kyle Bennett   February 15, 2017

    We have spent a couple of weeks tweaking the Core i5-7600K processor that we bought in retail after pulling the Integrated Heat Spreader and replacing the Thermal Interface Material with CoolLaboratory Liquid Ultra. Many of you wanted to see what we could get with air cooling, so we did.

  2.   

    3D Print Your Own Intel Delid Tool for Skylake & Kaby Lake

    By Kyle Bennett   February 09, 2017

    A lot of us have come to find out recently that Intel once again skimped on the Thermal Interface Material inside these processors' Integrated Heat Spreaders. You can fix that issue however, and now there are some ways to do it safely. If you have a 3D printer, you can make the process a lot safer, and the tools needed much less expensive.

  3.   

    7600K Naked Die Cooling Temperature Follow-Up

    By Kyle Bennett   February 07, 2017

    Last week we decided to see if we could get our naked Intel Core i5-7600K working in the LGA socket after going through the delidding process. We did in fact get the system functional, but the real goal was to achieve better cooling. This is a quick summation of what exactly we experienced.

  4.   

    Intel Core i5-7600K Naked Die Installation with Water Block

    By Kyle Bennett   February 03, 2017

    After our recent experiments with delidding and relidding our 7700K and 7600K to see if we could get better operating temperatures, we decided it was time to go topless! Popping the top on your CPU is one thing, and getting it to work in the current processor socket is another. Get out your pocket knife, we are going to have to make some cuts.

  5.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU De-Lid & Re-Lid Temp Results

    By Kyle Bennett   February 02, 2017

    We got in our retail purchased Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake architecture processor and of course the first thing we wanted to do was overclock it to 5GHz, and then very quickly remove the Integrated Heat Spreader and see how much better we could make our load temperatures. Once again, we got very good results certainly worth sharing.

  6.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i7-7700K CPU Overclocking Follow-up

    By Kyle Bennett   January 26, 2017

    Last week we shared our overclocking results with our retail purchased Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake processor. We then took the Integrated Heat Spreader off, replaced the Thermal Interface Material and tried again for 5GHz with 3600MHz memory and failed. This time, less RAM MHz and more core voltage!

  7.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i7-7700K CPU De-Lid & Re-Lid Results

    By Kyle Bennett   January 19, 2017

    Is there any reason at all to take a razor blade, garage workbench vice, or any sort of other tool to your brand new Kaby Lake CPU? Of course there is. That reason being that the Thermal Interface Material used by Intel on its desktop CPUs is pretty much crap...at least to us enthusiasts.

  8.   

    Kaby Lake 7700K vs Sandy Bridge 2600K IPC Review

    By Kyle Bennett   January 13, 2017

    There are many HardOCP readers that are still running Sandy Bridge CPUs and have been waiting with anticipation of one day upgrading to a new system. One of the biggest things asked in the last month is just how the 2600K stacks up against the new 7700K processor. So we got hold of one of our readers 2600K systems and put it to the test.

  9.   

    Intel Kaby Lake Core i7-7700K Overclocking Preview

    By Kyle Bennett   January 03, 2017

    After having a few weeks to play around with Intel's new Kaby Lake architecture Core i7-7700K processors, we finally have some results that we want to discuss when it comes to overclocking and the magic 5GHz many of us are looking for, and what we think your chances are of getting there yourself.

  10.   

    Core i7-7700K - Kaby Lake & Corsair RAM Overclocking

    By Kyle Bennett   December 22, 2016

    We were lucky enough to get our hands on a new set of Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600MHz RAM this week and we immediately put it work with the new Intel Kaby Lake Core i7-7700K processor that is to be launched next month.

  11.   

    AMD's New Ryzen CPU - SMT and IPC

    By Kyle Bennett   December 15, 2016

    AMD's New Horizon live streaming event this week gave us some insights to its new Zen based desktop CPU that will marketed under the name of "Ryzen." While there was a lot fluff, AMD CEO Lisa Su did invite us to benchmark along with it at home, and of course screwed that up, but it has now been corrected.

  12.   

    Intel Kaby Lake Core i7-7700K IPC Review

    By Kyle Bennett   December 09, 2016

    We have now gotten to spend a good amount of time with Intel's new Core i7-7700K processor, codenamed "Kaby Lake." This processor family is set to be launched at CES next year. Today we are pushing through a suite of benchmarks to see what Kaby Lake has in store for the enthusiast compared to the 6700K.