Reviews

  1.   

    VIVO 24K 650W Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   February 16, 2017

    VIVO is likely not a brand name that you are familiar with when it comes to enthusiast-level computer power supplies. We were not familiar with the VIVO name assuredly and its single PSU offering. All the more reason to put it through our PSU testing gauntlet when VIVO asked us to. Will VIVO regret putting its value brand PSU to the test?

  2.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU Re-Lid Overclocking Results

    By Kyle Bennett   February 15, 2017

    We have spent a couple of weeks tweaking the Core i5-7600K processor that we bought in retail after pulling the Integrated Heat Spreader and replacing the Thermal Interface Material with CoolLaboratory Liquid Ultra. Many of you wanted to see what we could get with air cooling, so we did.

  3.   

    Reeven Okeanos RC-1402 CPU Air Cooler Review

    By Marc Adams   February 14, 2017

    The Reeven Okeanos RC-1402 is not exactly a new CPU air cooler, but it is not widely available in the United States so it has not gotten a lot of coverage in North America. The cost for the cooler is not low, and two staggered-sized fans are included in the box, so we have fairly high performance expectations for this twin tower cooler.

  4.   

    Fallout 4 High Resolution Texture Pack Review

    By Brent Justice   February 12, 2017

    Bethesda has released its official High Resolution Texture Pack DLC for Fallout 4. We will look at performance impact, VRAM capacity usage levels, and compare image quality to see if this High Resolution Texture Pack might be worthy of your bandwidth in actually improving the gameplay experience.

  5.   

    3D Print Your Own Intel Delid Tool for Skylake & Kaby Lake

    By Kyle Bennett   February 09, 2017

    A lot of us have come to find out recently that Intel once again skimped on the Thermal Interface Material inside these processors' Integrated Heat Spreaders. You can fix that issue however, and now there are some ways to do it safely. If you have a 3D printer, you can make the process a lot safer, and the tools needed much less expensive.

  6.   

    NVIDIA Video Card Driver Performance Review

    By Brent Justice   February 08, 2017

    We take the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 for a ride in 11 games using drivers from the Windows 10 release to the latest drivers in January of 2017. We will see if and by how much game performance has changed over the course of time on NVIDIA GPUs. Have drivers really improved performance?

  7.   

    7600K Naked Die Cooling Temperature Follow-Up

    By Kyle Bennett   February 07, 2017

    Last week we decided to see if we could get our naked Intel Core i5-7600K working in the LGA socket after going through the delidding process. We did in fact get the system functional, but the real goal was to achieve better cooling. This is a quick summation of what exactly we experienced.

  8. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    ASUS Maximus IX Formula LGA 1151 Motherboard Review

    By Daniel Dobrowolski   February 06, 2017

    ASUS is nothing like Hollywood. ASUS can actually turn out sequels which not only match the originals, but surpass them. ASUS Republic of Gamers Maximus IX Formula is another sequel in the long line of Maximus motherboards. Can ASUS continue its long history of awesome sequels? One things for certain, it’s no Robocop 3.

  9.   

    Intel Core i5-7600K Naked Die Installation with Water Block

    By Kyle Bennett   February 03, 2017

    After our recent experiments with delidding and relidding our 7700K and 7600K to see if we could get better operating temperatures, we decided it was time to go topless! Popping the top on your CPU is one thing, and getting it to work in the current processor socket is another. Get out your pocket knife, we are going to have to make some cuts.

  10.   

    Intel Kaby Lake i5-7600K CPU De-Lid & Re-Lid Temp Results

    By Kyle Bennett   February 02, 2017

    We got in our retail purchased Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake architecture processor and of course the first thing we wanted to do was overclock it to 5GHz, and then very quickly remove the Integrated Heat Spreader and see how much better we could make our load temperatures. Once again, we got very good results certainly worth sharing.

  11. [H]ard|OCP Silver Award  

    FSP Twins 500W ATX Redundant Power Supply Review

    By Paul Johnson   February 01, 2017

    Redundant computer power supplies have been a fixture in the enterprise server market since failover hardware solutions were first conceived to deal with contingency planning and system disaster recovery. FSP has now brought its Twins solution to the enthusiast market, and FSP have done it quite well.

  12.   

    FSP Guardian Computer Power Supply Software Review

    By Paul Johnson   February 01, 2017

    When it comes to computer power supplies and software, there simply are not a lot of entrants into this niche market. However along side of our FSP Twin 500W review today, we have FSP's entrant into the world of PSU monitoring and control software called Guardian. It will monitor and record your PSU's performance over a 30 day period.